Home / News

Sep 21, 2021

Equality North Carolina Announces 2021 Municipal Endorsements


September 21, 2021

Nate Fischer | Equality NC | nate@equalitync.org

RALEIGH--On Wednesday, Equality North Carolina released their endorsements for 2021’s municipal elections. 28 candidates in 15 cities received the endorsement.

Equality NC Executive Director, Kendra Johnson, said:

“We’re pleased with this year’s slate of candidates. We’ve carefully vetted these folks, and we feel confident that they’ll be advocates for our communities. With the dangerous situation with the Delta variant, rising unaffordability and poverty in our communities, and an incomplete system of protections for LGBTQ people across the state, the situation for the candidates if elected will be challenging. But we feel confident that these people will be strong advocates for racial justice and for lived equality for all.”

The whole list of candidates is below, along with their city and race. You can also view the list at our PAC site.


  • Ed Gray, Apex Town Council
  • Audra Killingsworth, Apex Town Council


  • Todd Dulaney, Asheboro City School Board
  • Kathryn Thill, Asheboro City School Board


  • Ian Baltutis, Burlington Mayor
  • Bob Byrd, Burlington City Council


  • Damon Seils, Carrboro Mayor
  • Barbara Foushee, Carrboro Town Council
  • Jacquelyn Gist, Carrboro Town Council
  • Randee Haven-O'Donnell, Carrboro Town Council
  • George Griffin, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City School Board

Chapel Hill

  • Pam Hemminger, Chapel Hill Mayor
  • Paris Miller-Foushee, Chapel Hill Town Council
  • Karen Stegman, Chapel Hill Town Council
  • George Griffin, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City School Board


  • Ryan Fay, Davidson Town Council


  • Marion T Johnson, Durham City Council
  • AJ Williams, Durham City Council


  • Bryan Haynes, Fuquay-Varina Town Council


  • Diamond Staton-Williams, Harrisburg Town Council


  • Jenn Weaver, Hillsborough Mayor

Holly Springs

  • Christine Kelly, Holly Springs Mayor
  • Carrie Randa, Holly Springs Town Council


  • Lance Munger, Huntersville Town Council


  • Dylan Moore, Reidsville City Council


  • Deans Eatman, Wendell Town Council


  • Harper Peterson, Wilmington Mayor
  • Philip White, Wilmington City Council

Upcoming Events


Stay In Touch

Want to stay updated on the work of Equality North Carolina and the happenings in our state that affect the most vulnerable North Carolinians? Sign up for our updates.