Home / News

Jan 21, 2020

Equality North Carolina Releases First Round Of 2020 Endorsements

Raleigh – On Tuesday, Equality North Carolina released the first round of their 2020 endorsements for political races across the state of North Carolina. This first batch of endorsements includes the North Carolina General Assembly, Council of State and select races for US Congress. Equality North Carolina will continue to release endorsements in the coming weeks and months, including local and judicial races.

This morning, Kendra R. Johnson, Executive Director of Equality North Carolina, released the following statement:

“With the massive number of races on the ballot in 2020, we have a crucial opportunity for North Carolinans to elect pro-equality legislators and change the course of history for this state -- and America. We are living in dire and terrifying times for some of our community’s most vulnerable members -- particularly trans and gender-nonconforming people of color and other individuals living at the margins. These voters deserve leaders committed to creating a more equitable and safer world for them to live, work and raise families. We believe the politicians that we’ve endorsed are the most well-equipped to help build that world, change the dangerous trajectory that this country is currently heading towards, and create a better North Carolina for us all.”

See the list of Endorsed Candidates below. Stay tuned to our social media channels for the roll-out of other endorsements in the coming weeks and months.

NC Senate

Harper Peterson (9)

Wiley Nickel (16)

Angela Bridgman (18)

Sarah Crawford (18)

Kirk deViere (19)

Gray Ellis (20)

Natalie S. Murdock (20)

Pierce Freelon (20)

Mike Woodard (22)

Wally White (30)

Jose Santiago (35)

Mujtaba Mohammed (38)

Natasha Marcus (41)

Julie Mayfield (49)

NC House

Brian Farkas (9)

Allison Dahle (11)

Deb Butler (18)

Vernetta Alston (29)

Marcia Morey (30)

Grier Martin (34)

Julie von Haefen (36)

Sydney Batch (37)

Joe John (40)

Gale Adcock (41)

Cynthia Ball (49)

Graig Meyer (50)

Lowell Simon (52)

Robert T. Reives, II (54)

Verla Insko (56)

Ashton Clemmons (57)

Nicole Quick (59)

Ricky Hurtado (63)

Dan Besse (74)

Al Heggins (76)

Aimy Steele (82)

Mary G. Belk (88)

Terry Brown (92)

Ray Russell (93)

Christy Clark (98)

Nasif Majeed (99)

Carolyn Logan (101)

Becky Carney (102)

Rachel Hunt (103)

Wesley Harris (105)

US Senate

Erica Smith

US House

Scott Huffman

David Wilson Brown


Roy Cooper

Attorney General

Josh Stein

Commissioner of Insurance

Wayne Goodwin

Commissioner of Labor

Jessica Holmes

Upcoming Events


Stay In Touch

Want to stay updated on the work of Equality North Carolina and the happenings in our state that affect the most vulnerable North Carolinians? Sign up for our updates.