Stay Informed

North Carolina Electeds for Equality

Equality NC hosts N.C. Electeds for Equality, a bi-partisan peer network of elected officials representing communities from across North Carolina, and at every level of state and local government, who are supportive of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) rights and justice.

The network will allow supportive elected officials to learn more about issues related to LGBT rights as they arise at various levels of state government, including how certain policies affect the lives of LGBT North Carolinians, in areas such as employment, housing, accommodations, health care and public safety.


Are you an elected official who'd like to become a part of NC Electeds for Equality? Email us today at

N.C. Electeds for Equality includes:

  • N.C. Attorney General Roy Cooper (D)
  • N.C. Treasurer Janet Cowell (D)
  • U.S. Congresswoman Alma Adams (D)
  • Rep. Rodney Moore (D)
  • Rep. Tricia Cotham (D)
  • Rep. Susan Fisher (D)
  • Rep. Rick Glazier (D)
  • Rep. Duane Hall (D)
  • Rep. Larry Hall (D)
  • Rep. Pricey Harrison (D)
  • Rep. Paul Luebke (D)
  • Rep. Grier Martin (D)
  • Rep. Susi Hamilton (D)
  • Sen. Angela Bryant (D)
  • Sen. Valerie Foushee (D)
  • Sen. Floyd McKissick (D)
  • Sen. Josh Stein (D)
  • Sen. Mike Woodard (D)
  • Asheville Mayor Esther Manheimer
  • Boone Mayor Andy Ball (D)
  • Carrboro Mayor Lydia Lavelle (D)
  • Chapel Hill Mayor Mark Kleinschmidt (D)
  • Greensboro Mayor Nancy Vaughan (D)
  • Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane (D)
  • Spring Lake Mayor Chris Rey (D)
  • Wake Forest Mayor Vivian Jones (R)
  • Webster Mayor Nick Breedlove (D)
  • Boone Town Council Jennifer Pena (D)
  • Carrboro Board of Aldermen Damon Seils (D)
  • Chapel Hill Town Council Member George J. Cianciolo (D)
  • Chapel Hill Town Council Member Laurin Easthom (D)
  • Chapel Hill Town Council Member Maria Palmer (D)
  • Chapel Hill Town Council Member Lee Storrow (D)
  • Chapel Hill Town Council Member James L. (Jim) Ward (D)
  • Charlotte City Councilperson LaWanna Mayfield (D)
  • Charlotte City Councilperson John Autry (D)
  • Durham City Councilperson Eddie Davis (D)
  • Durham City Councilperson Don Moffitt (D)
  • Durham City Councilperson Steve Schewel (D)
  • Greensboro City Councilperson Nancy Hoffman (D)
  • Greenville City Councilperson Marion Blackburn (D)
  • Orange County Commissioner Penny Rich (D)
  • Mecklenburg County Commissioner Pat Cotham (D)
  • Orange County Commissioner Mark Dorosin (D)
  • Raleigh City Councilperson Russ Stephenson (D)
  • Wake Forest Town Board Member Jim Thompson (R)
  • Buncombe County Register of Deeds Drew Reisinger (D)
  • Granville County Register of Deeds Kathy Matthews (I)
  • Guilford County Register of Deeds Jeff Thigpen (D)
  • Mecklenburg County Register of Deeds David Granberry (D)

NOTE: While Equality NC has convened the inaugural class, membership in NC Electeds for Equality does not infer endorsement of any particular policy position or action by Equality NC. Questions about member positions on particular issues should be directed to their respective offices.

Stay in Touch

Talk to us:

P.O. Box 28768
Raleigh, NC 27611
tel (919) 829-0343
fax (919) 827-4573

Stay Connected

Follow us on:

Stay Informed


Build the grassroots organization it will take to bring Equality home.


Who We Are | What We Do | The Latest | Take Action
Privacy | Contact Us

© 2012 Equality NC · All Rights Reserved

Powered by ARCOS | Design by Plus Three